151 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
author

It's up to people to believe what someone has chosen to anonymously to post regarding the WellChild awards, but it's wrong to question whether it is true. This is from that person's perspective and it is consistent with other anonymous accounts of similar situations, and they know they can't give their name or they will be attacked for appearing ungrateful.

What many of you do not realize is that it takes courage to post something that is true, and that is controversial, and there is nothing worse than posting an anonymous truth to have people question it, so I have deleted those comments that have done so. How many people have stayed silent out of fear for telling the truth? We should be encouraging people to come forward rather than to accuse them of fabricating stories.

Expand full comment

I completely agree with you,Dual Citizen, that the Harkles are yesterday’s news here across the pond. I’ve noticed that these days, there is very little coverage of them day-to-day by the mainstream media. They might’ve caused a flurry of attention when they first got here because of the connection to HMTQ- because we greatly respect her and some of the others of the RF. But they have now gotten what they wished for, and are like any of the other shallow celebrities who always seem “surprised” when their pictures are taken, of course by the media they’ve arranged. We ordinary citizens don’t pay much attention to, or even like, those media-hungry celebrities. However, we,like you our serious British friends, revere our serious actors,artists,and musicians, who regard their private lives as private, and who genuinely do not want attention except as it relates to their work, and don’t need their photos taken when they support the causes they believe in. TW and JCMH will never be in this last group.

Expand full comment

Its been rather pleasant without those two appearing on every form of media/social media 24/7. I wish they'd both go and live in Lesotho (Harry professes to love it so much) and leave us here in the US and the UK alone. Just GO AWAY!

Expand full comment

Watched the full video and came away with great admiration for William and how he handled himself, with just the right amount of polite tolerance. I enjoyed watching H trying to catch his eye and failing, he appears to have no clue about how deeply he has hurt his family.

Expand full comment

Harry is so selfish and easily influenced, he's become a cc of That Dreadful Woman. He deserves the title of Harriet, Prince Of Wails.

Expand full comment

Seems to me JH was warned to keep low key and for once complied. Heats on.

Expand full comment

I'm feeling some relief that Diana's not sitting on a bench. But the statue itself fails to capture her essence, imho. Lots of built up expectations in advance of the event---but in reality, it seems rather ho-hum and like a non event. Actually, like the Markles, themselves.

Expand full comment

Me too, I put nothing past Those Two.

Expand full comment

Here in the US news coverage of the statue unveiling is light. It's a busy news day so it's not getting much attention. I think that the US is getting less and less interested in the Markles thus their money making opportunities are rapidly decreasing. They are last year's news.

Expand full comment

One has to wonder what role he was playing. Harry the magnificent or Just 'arry down the pub-The very private person who wants to live a quiet life hahahaha (why would a charity want someone like that?) or as a 'royal' giving a screech oops typo meant speech! OF which he walked away from? bit confuzzled if you ask me. So to unconfuzzle us who wonder- rip the HRH right off him! and let the poor guy be" Just 'arry." with a famous mum and Grannie.

Many thanks to HM for forbearance and diligence in bringing us the truth as should be reported. It is very time consuming but worth it. Also I want to pay thanks to Artemis Brilliant work!

The statue... Hmm Diana looks very masculine if it wasn't for her attire it would be difficult to tell. The attire hmmm Not to my liking. She was well dressed and well groomed- this attire does not reflect that.

I hope he goes home ASAP.

Expand full comment

I guess I would be referred to as a “lurker,” but I prefer to think of my self as a “reader,” since I am a voracious one. I like the statue for the spirit it represents. Diana loved children from all walks of life, and was in many ways still a child herself...an unfinished adult who was not completely formed due to the loss of a mother at such a young age. Statues are generally such an inadequate representation of a person’s physical appearance and vivacity, that I’m just relieved that I recognize Diana in this statue. You would not have to place a plaque at the base of it to tell me who this woman was and what she represented. The boys did well in their choice and input. One of the boys, however, needs to reconsider his role in the WellChild Charity. I worked as speech/communication therapist with special needs children for twenty-two years and never once did I encounter an adult or another student behaving so rudely with a handicapped student. It sounds like H was very lucky to have had such a positive interaction with these special children that resulted in them wanting to know more about his life in the curious, innocent way that these special beings have, only to have him, in essence, give them such negative feedback. H should not be invited back to interact with the children at

WellChild since he obviously has not inherited his mother’s true generous and loving nature around children.

Expand full comment

The statue--that belt and buckle make her look as if she just won a prizefight. The whole thing lacks her grace and beauty.

Expand full comment

I will say that the statue - as disapointing as it turned to be, within my expecatives - suit Diana Legacy into a tee...

I am glad it is done and UK can ship Henry back so we only have one PR 🤢 per day and can - should - not click on it because one simply doesn't care anymore...

For all the fault the British Royal Family is for all the genetic pain caused through the generations today - ONCE AGAIN - proved that they just messed one. Praise The L it was the unbrilliant spare.

HRH Prince William delivered in top shape - he always does, doesn't he? - through the entire act, his family know where they stand - in life and BRF - so no need for the I-am-the-wife-claws-and-swing from The Duchess of Cambridge :relief: so...

Can we all move on? Can BRF do what it must and soon? Can the press stop pretending that William has to make ammends with his traitorous brother?

As for the pic of Baby L at WellChild Henry behave like the rude, spoiled and thoughtless child he is... it is complicated... too complicated as he still has to learn how to speak without the missus script and he was always a bit off when she reacted to everything with the coloquial "OMG so cute" :cringe:. A simple "I'm sorry, I still don't have any pics because as I was coming to UK my beloved wife didn't let me upload any to my phone because my family, British Media and Press are not to be trusted."

Expand full comment

I’m so sorry for the innocent child he was speaking to. His response was totally uncalled for and unacceptable, and I’m very glad that the child’s mother has spoken up to voice her outrage over his poor behavior. The sooner the second son gets on that plane and back to California, the better. Let’s hope maybe this will help put that final nail in the coffin of public opinion. I think this points out very clearly that he is no better than his wife, and that perhaps everything was so covered up for him all these years that we just never saw just want a nasty piece of work he truly is.

I sincerely hope that any charities and patronage’s that are still tied to that couple will finally see their way to cut ties completely.

Expand full comment

As one of my fellow Americans said yesterday, I’m so pleased to find the comment section still open! Because of our time difference with you in the UK, either my sleep time or nap time always seems to coincide with the initial posting of your blog,HM. I’m writing for two reasons: 1) to say once again that I’m not a stalker, and have been closely following your posts, dear Harry, and 2) more importantly to thank you once again not only for your in depth analysis and keeping us updated, but also for the extraordinary amount of work you’ve put in just this week alone. So, MANY THANKS,HM!!

PS I just remembered the third reason I wanted to write: Thank Heavens there was no bench included in Diana’s memorial sculpture!

Expand full comment

Hear hear, as a fellow American I echo your thanks for all of HM's hard work, not all of us are snowed by Harry and TW's PR.

Expand full comment

Thanks,Yvette,Laurel,and Sooty! I agree with you,Yvette, that not all of us are taken in by the Harkles’ PR.

Expand full comment

Another American who seconds your sentiments!

Expand full comment

Ditto.

Expand full comment

If the report of Harry's rudeness is true, at the unveiling, then it is a very good thing that he has shoved off from being in the fabric of royal life. He is now totally free to be as big a buffoon as his heart desires. I predict there are still many hard lessons to come his way.

Expand full comment

I have refrained from commenting since the trolling incidents, but thanks to Our Harry for keeping the comments open during a limited timeframe. I was interested to see Hazbeen attempting to show all is good by gurning, and of course managing to find an opportunity to gaze directly at the camera, as per TW's instructions. When I see him now, all I can see is Beaker from the Muppets - dumb and clueless. Yuk!

Expand full comment

The pics I saw he was regularly looking directly at the camera. I find that inauthentic, as in the person is not

actually immersed in experiencing the moment. Comes off as more of a photo opportunity than being present and in the moment at the event.

Expand full comment

He has been well trained by his wife to immediately find the camera and look directly at it at all times.

Expand full comment

My first reaction to seeing the statue was one of disappointment as it it didn’t seem to relate to the public version of Diana we all knew. But then it dawned on me that this was her sons vision of their mother, a much less formal and polished version of herself. So I think, if the boys believe this statue reflects Diana, as they knew her, who are we to disagree?

Expand full comment

Methinks that as there were many people who had an input to its design, it reminds me that a camel is a horse designed by a committee.....

Expand full comment

Yes, never thought of it that way. Still ....

Expand full comment
Jul 1, 2021Liked by Harry Markle

Sorry, Harry Markle but I’d like to add a Happy Canada 🇨🇦! for my fellows Canadians on this site.

Happy Canada Day! 🇨🇦

Expand full comment

My son just wished me that as he lives there

Expand full comment

Have just watched a 20 minute video of the event on DM online. The main focus was on William for the first 9 minutes. As it should be - he is a future King. William took precedence, with PH very noticeably a few steps behind in the line up to talk to the invited guests.

BTW, Harry has a very obvious bald patch, when seen from behind, and almost at the same stage and pattern as William's.

The statue was OK, but a shame that it not depict Diana smiling. There were no live speeches (thankfully) and the whole event was really quite low key.

So pleased really that the afternoon seemed to be without incident.

Expand full comment

I like the statue. Due to the medium used, it was never going to be a true likeness. However, I think it does represent her affinity to children. That is what I remember most about her, the way she interacted with children and her enjoyment in meeting them.

Expand full comment

Pity her youngest son did not take on board as to how to relate to children.

Expand full comment

Not sure about the statue yet, it's hard to get a good sense from pictures. The affinity PD had with children was something I thought JCMH had inherited, as he used to look so at ease with children during his royal outings - obviously this is not now true and his real colours are now showing and are not pretty.

Expand full comment

Interesting that the separate speeches failed to materialise. I had commented on the “glum”

appearance being him wondering who to send the bill to. After all he has become accustomed to getting a million bucks for speeches about his mother. As Doria would say, “Don’t give the milk away for free”. I’m amazed at how they bend over backwards to appease Harry, no military uniforms at Prince Phillip’s funeral, no media at the unveiling. Catherine should definitely have been there, supporting William and as our future Queen. Dignified, loyal, majestic and family orientated. Everything that MM isn’t.

Expand full comment

I wonder whether the speeches were nixed because PH refused to release a copy of his to those in charge of the event?

Expand full comment

Strange statue. Not a great reflection of her at all really. At least she wasn't sat on a bench. Hopefully H will push off now, never to darken our doorstep again.

Expand full comment

Unusually for me, I went ahead and watched the film--all 20 minutes--on DM, because while I don't particularly like DM and their clickbait journalism, but this film was mercifully devoid of commentary. So, here goes: PW looked--the word that popped into my head was actually--regal. Elegant, refined, composed and self confident. Quality time with his grandmother combined with finding his true soul mate in Catherine have done wonders for his character. As for H, well, what's to say? I find it difficult to believe that with his upbringing, he managed to appear out of sorts in the clothing department. Brown shoes with a black (or charcoal grey) suit? Unbuttoned jacket? Didn't look like a particularly hot day, and PW didn't seem to mind keeping his buttoned. And just flapping around the place, trying to ingratiate himself with everyone. Trying to throwback to when he was a lad and everyone smiled at him, except this time no one was buying it. I wonder if he noticed. I did like PW's tossing his rope to H and letting H fold up the whole tarp, it was very condescending without seeming to be. I don't think there was any forgive-and-forget going on, PW looked very much like the older brother who has to appear in public with his reprobate kid brother and is tending to appearances, no more no less.

Expand full comment

Didn’t watch the video so going by what you’ve said (thanks) I love that PW threw the rope at PH and left him to fold the tarp .... almost a ‘scarf’ moment!

Expand full comment

Those brown shoes looked so wrong. But at least he was wearing a suit...

Expand full comment

And not that rumpled grey one he's so fond of.

Expand full comment

Thank you for the report and doing the one click so the rest of don't have to add clicks. Did the brothers give speeches?

Expand full comment

Didn't say a word--just chatted with the other guests.

Expand full comment

I am glad she wasnt sitting on a bench. I have a question. I often see Harry Markle referred to as OH. What is that about?

Expand full comment

"Our Harry" -- an affectionate nickname.

Expand full comment

I suppose it is also used to avoid to avoid confusion, as HM could also stand for Her Majesty.

Expand full comment

I am pleased that the statue has been unveiled and everyone can now move on.

Thanks Harry Markle for showing us that comment from one of the parents who attended the Wellchild event. I was curious about how he’d act at the event; I’m not surprised about his behaviour, and I feel for the child and mother who had to witness it. H’s true character has emerge and I’m wondering just what will it take for charities to finally cut ties with him.

It’s time for the Queen and the Royal family to publicly cut ties with him; strip him of the HRH, the title and place in the line of succession. There is absolutely no argument for him to keep his privileges.

Expand full comment

Harry uses Wellchild to look like he cares, but he doesn’t. It’s obvious. The statue unveiling was optics only. Harry wants his image to improve to make $ in US but he is so disliked here there is no hope. In my opinion.

Expand full comment

After his comments in the "Me You Can't See" program about how he found having to make such appearances so onerous, I can't help seeing his "caring" act as just that: an act.

Expand full comment

It is time to do away with this Royal Institution. By putting up with and sweeping Harrys behaviour under the carpet, they continue to abuse our respect and emotions. They have all got to go.

Expand full comment

I'm not there yet but to have excluded Catherine was unforgivable. She is Prince William's wife, the daughter-in-law of Diana, and the future Queen Consort. It doesn't matter if she and the children had a private viewing. She still should have been by William's side. The appearance is that, one again, the RF have bent over backwards for the traitorous son. I am extremely disappointed in the "optics" and cant' help but feel "that woman" is supremely smug today.

Expand full comment

That seems rather extreme. Harry is still part of a family that loves him even if they don’t trust him and don’t like how he has been behaving. Abolishing the monarchy over how they’ve handled Harry and his litigious wife isn’t the solution. Give them time it will get sorted out. I support removing him from the line of succession.

Expand full comment

Hadn’t even given the expenses a thought, so, they could well have been asked to fund his passage! What a let down if they did! Beaming and gladhanding for the cameras, but quietly letting the mask slip when a child asks him one innocent question! Where is the understanding, humour, empathy and, sympathy of a ‘compassionate, caring and, connecting’ man, with two young children of his own. If I had been the child’s mother, I think I would have found it very difficult in not informing Harry of a suitable place to put the photo in question! As for the statue: sorry, it’s nil points from me!

Expand full comment

If they did not fund the visit/pay for his flight, he can claim the costs as a tax deduction.

Expand full comment

Of course! Ways and means can always be found when you’re hard up multi millionaires!

Expand full comment

Awful statue, a very poor likeness and with her unbuttoned blouse, a very cheap one.

Expand full comment

I hate to say this but she looked dressed like TW. Diana would never dress like that, clothes looked good and regal on her unlike TW with badly fitting underwear. A bag of rags we used to say.

Expand full comment

Pompous a***

Expand full comment

The statue is hideous...Princess Diana was a Beautiful Lady....Why the token black child? For Harry's benefit....Prince William showed his class and dignity today...He will be a Wonderful King, someday....God Bless, Princess Diana on her 60th Birthday...Gone too soon..I will never forget you......

Expand full comment

What a dreadful, dreadful, dreadful statue. There is not one ounce of Diana's beauty on it. Still, what's done is done. You've had your party Harry, now off you pop back to La La Land, quick as you can.

Expand full comment

Shame and disgusting on Harry being rude to the child. At least he was asked about the daughter by an interested person. None of the media are due to the outrage over the name.

Expand full comment

I give the statue a 👎🏼. My initial scroll down thought it was a man if it wasn’t for skirt 🤦🏻‍♀️

Expand full comment

Thank you again, OH, for keeping us informed in a timely and dignified fashion, with facts minus gossip. Yes, it is sad the event turned out to be all about PH, and the soap opera he and TW have created.

It appears PH had a nasty knee-jerk reaction to that poor child, probably thinking she had been put up to asking the question by her parents in an effort to get some sort of scoop on The Baby Who Must Not Be Seen, given his suspicious mindset. One would think, having so much experience with similar events, he could have contained his emotions and been at least polite to the little girl, merely saying he wished he could but did not have a photo with him at the moment. But, no, he was rude, and showed he really is not fit to do these types of appearances, and certainly not what one would expect from a Royal.

Expand full comment

Well at least Diana isn't sitting on a bench like some folks thought she would. I just hope that Harry is headed back to California now. This was supposed to be something for the Spencer family and her children, instead it became a farce because of Harry Markle. So disrespectful of him.

Expand full comment

I really like the statue and I feel that it does capture PD’s facial expressions and love towards these children. I like her in the montage and from what I read somewhere on Twitter this is an actual outfit she wore, obviously they’re not gonna put her in clothes from 2021. I think the sculpture is that much better than any others that I have seen of her and you look at it and say oh yes that is PD!

Expand full comment

Art is in the eye of the beholder, but this statute doesn't capture Princess Diana's essence. I'm unwhelmed. And Harry's rudeness...well...that's probably his real modus operandi that was hidden from the public for so long.

Expand full comment

I wish the statue was with Diana with her kids. But no bench. The Palace basically shut down reporters and fans of the R.F. from expressing their feelings about harry. I get that they did not want to hear boos today , but the people of the U.K. who support the Queen should be able to boo harry today in public .

Expand full comment

Getting angry with a child for asking an innocent request is not very fatherly, now is it?

Expand full comment

I thought the statue might be of her sitting on the steps with her two little boys, but I can see how her sons might have felt awkward commissioning a statue that included them, and asking for donations for it. No, it does not capture her well. I always thought of her as a statuesque beauty, but so much of her beauty was in her animation, movement and coloring (lovely complexion, vibrant blue eyes, golden hair), and that cannot be expressed in bronze. Perhaps when it acquires a patina and light reflects off it ... trying to be kind and hopeful here.

Expand full comment

It seems to have exceedingly manly featured.

Expand full comment

Looks more like Prince Philip, the sweep of the hair to one side like a man.

Expand full comment

Is there a hidden message? The third child in the statues, first I only saw that the girl had two left arms, then I notice four legs, and there's a spare head back there somewhere.

The young boy is definitely neither of her sons, what message do we get from the other two children.

If I had been asked to donate to a statue honoring the late Princess, I'd be angry that more effort and pounds went into the images of three children than to the Princess I wanted to honor.

Expand full comment

Let me get this straight. THE CHILDREN asked Harry for a pic of Lillibet and he got angry with CHILDREN?? Zero class.

Expand full comment

To be angered by a question which, in the circumstances, is so very normal and should have been expected, too. 😳

Expand full comment

Against my better judgement I waited up here in Aus to see what would transpire. As many have already noted on social media, Thank G*d there is no bench! But I admit to being underwhelmed by the finished work. Everything about it. I understand the concept but something else is lacking. I daresay the sculpture may be more impressive IRL? H of course gurned and gestured, as if no controversy had ever disturbed the waters. My thanks as always to HM for recording and commenting on the events!

Expand full comment

How can Harry say his British family is racist, when it is apparent he and William wanted to show their mother with a little African boy, as well as the white girl? I'm not sure what I was expecting with this statue, but I'll have to think about it before I decide whether I like it or not!

Expand full comment

So far, there have been no protesters, no booing, no nothing to show Harry the displeasure of his people. I am astounded by this. Hoping Harry Markle will address this. I thought for sure, due to polls and the anger of our people that there would be huge protests starting at airport then moving to BP. Quiet and peaceful but protests nonetheless. Surely Harry and Meghan are heaving huge sighs of relief because protests would have spoken volumes...and the Queen could not have ignored.

Expand full comment

The charity event was top secret until it happened and closed to the public, and the statue unveiling was closed to the public. No one knew his flight plans. Harry is not being exposed to the public at all on this trip.

Expand full comment

Please view videos of people milling about, including the woman who mentioned Harry's nasty behavior. There are shots of people standing about outside the venue waving flags, etc. The unveiling itself was closed to the public but there were opportunities to protest and no one did. You are correct about the flight plans though, my apolgies.

Expand full comment

Well this was about the Spencer family and also William too. Harry was included but he was just one person.

Expand full comment

Well why make it about Harry, after all? This is Diana's and her family's day, Harry is a miniscule part of that.

Expand full comment
author

People can't protest when they don't know where he is and Frogmore is a private estate. Also, there are still social distancing restrictions everywhere in the UK. I don't know where you are in the world, but we are still in lockdown and are easing out.

Expand full comment

I would agree had I not seen the videos/photos (plus this woman and her daughter) of people in the area watching members of RF walking to the garden. So the public were able to have acess - why weren't those people on lockdown? A protest could easily have been done, even with social distancing AND, perhaps most importantly, the media would have given it massive coverage sending a strong message to the Queen and Harry and Meghan. I too am dismayed there were no protests but this is not an excuse since members of the public were in attendance.

Expand full comment
author

People can protest in other ways, and they don't have to do it in person. Yes, people are allowed out, but gatherings are still frowned upon.

Expand full comment

I'm your biggest fan - been with you since the start and comment frequently that it's amazing to me how Harry Markle blog can continually present information with credible substantiation when the UK media can't. That said, I have the feeling you are perhaps as disappointed at the lack of protesting as am I. What a message that would have sent.

Expand full comment
author

Things will happen in time!

Expand full comment
Jul 1, 2021Liked by Harry Markle

We can only hope. Meanwhile I appreciate your dedication, knowledge, credible research and information. Please keep your blog going - it means a lot to many readers.

Expand full comment

Maybe people felt focusing on Harry with petered would be disrespectful to William and others who are valued in the RF. It wasn't dosed to be about Harry... it was too honor Diana, after all. I understand, though, your feeling that Harry needs a clear understanding of just how he's perceived by the people. Perhaps that chance will come at a more appropriate time?

Expand full comment

Oh gosh... my phone has a mind of its own. Petered should be protests! Sorry!

Expand full comment

What an appalling thing to do to a child. I was so sickened seeing this. He could have come up with an excuse instead of leaving a child feeling as though he had done something wrong. The story is already out there (comments on DM). I hope some news agency picks up on them and runs with it to show just how heartless this man is. It really needs to be out there.

Expand full comment

Strange way for a father to behave towards another child's question.

Expand full comment

There probably are no photographs of the baby.

Expand full comment

What baby? ;-)

Expand full comment

We have yet to see/get the usual, authorised B&W photo of one foot or hand of the new reborn doll.

Expand full comment
Jul 1, 2021Liked by Harry Markle

Thank you for your recent articles HM, I always consider them to be fair, informative and a pleasure to read. Personally, at first glance I don’t think the statue does Diana true justice, however this is just my opinion. I hope the relevant family members are pleased with it though!

Harry’s behaviour at the WellChild awards yesterday was appalling. He should look up the true meaning of the words, which he is overly keen to preach to others!

Basic manners and common courtesy cost nothing…and NO, his mother would NOT be proud of him, should he be stupid enough to harbour this bizarre perception!

Expand full comment

I'm glad that is over. I don't love the statue but my first thought wasn't about the woman's legacy but how horrified she would be at the mess Harry has made of his life and the appalling woman he married.

Expand full comment

Thank goodness this drama is over. I was surprised that there were four of them!

If only the main drama was over.

I find it abhorrent that H insists on retaining WellChild in the U.K. when he lives 5,000 miles away and is of no benefit to them. Better to cut all ties and titles with the UK as he has no intention of returning, unless money is involved. The Duchess of Cambridge would be a more suitable patron.

Harry’s still using his title to keep linked, while WellChild and Invictus may wish to retain their link with a ‘royal’ given that the RF are struggling to support the Duke of Edinburgh’s patronages.

Not the best outcome for either.

Expand full comment

Would be so telling if H were to meet the rest of the public without everything being staged and handled...what would happen then? William handled the pressure with grace today.

Expand full comment

I felt so sorry for William today.

Expand full comment

William has stayed strong and come over well about all this. The sooner Harry goes back to america the better. How dare he be so rude to an ill child. Not keen on the statue but hope Diana can now rest at peace.

Expand full comment